Board Of Governors, 2021 – 2023

The Executive Directors who serve voluntarily on the NAASE Board of Governors bring together their experience and their commitment to the profession of synagogue management for the benefit of their colleagues in the field and the congregations of the Conservative Movement.

Each brings specific insights and unique strengths to the shared efforts of the Board, serving in various capacities simultaneously – some as committee chairs, others as special project managers, and others as consultants and liaisons to the Board at large.

Guided by the Association’s Constitution and mindful of the dynamic needs of Executive Directors scattered across the North American continent, the Board of Governors oversees the interrelated functioning of the committees and individuals who develop and sustain the diverse programming of the Association. Currently, twenty one Governors guide the professional association of over 300 members.

Harvey M. Brenner, FSA, FTA
Temple Beth Ahm  Yisrael, Springfield, NJ

Interim Senior Vice President for Membership
Matthew G Halpern, FSA, ATz
Miami, FL

Vice President for Professional Development
Lori Dafilou, FSA
Congregation Beth Am Israel, Penn Valley, PA

Interim Vice President for Programming
Sheryl Goldman, FSA, 
Temple Beth Am ,  Los Angeles, CA


Helene Santo, FSA
Congregation Or Zarua, New York, NY

Marcie Platkin, FSA
North Shore Jewish Center, Port Jefferson Station, NY

Honorary President
Fred Rothstein, FSA
Neveh Shalom, Portland, OR

Board Members

  • Lynne Balaban – Temple Beth Zion-Beth Israel, Philadelphia, PA
  • Joel Berger – The Jewish Center, Princeton, NJ
  • Andrew Burger – Congregation Beth Yeshurun, Houston, TX
  • Rivka Campbell- Beth Tikvah Synagogue, Toronto, ON
  • Corie Hampton – Beth David Synagogue, Greensboro, NC
  • Stephanie Krasman, FSA – Beth Sholom Synagogue, Toronto, ON
  • Kenneth Krivitzky – Temple Beth Hillel – Beth El, Wynnewood, PA
  • Tamah Kushner – Congregation Tikvat Jacob Beth Torah, Manhattan Beach, CA
  • Shari Lipp-Levine – Congregation Beth El Zedeck, Indianapolis, IN
  • Barry Nove – Agudas Achim Congregation, Alexandria, VA
  • Hal Ossman – Bnai Israel Congregation, Rockville, MD
  • Geo Poor – Congregation Beth Sholom, Memphis, TN
  • Deborah Zeger – Temple Beth El, Temple Beth El, Rochester, NY

Our Past Presidents remain active as consultants to the Board of Governors, occasionally with several of them serving as ex-officio voting members of the Board of Governors, and as committee and special project chairpersons. They continue to represent NAASE with distinction, to several of our sister organizations.